Vermont, United States

Vermont, United States

Country USA
Capital city Montpelier
Area 24,923 km²
Population 643,503 people (2020)
Governor Phil Scott
Time zone Eastern: UTC -5/ -4
ZIP code VT
ISO 3166-2 US-VT
Official site


Vermont or Vermont (English: Vermont; from French: verts monts, “green hills”, sound file and letter symbols for pronunciation ) is a small state in the United States, located in New England. Its capital is Montpellier, and its largest city is Burlington. Vermont is the only New England state that does not border the Atlantic Ocean.

Geographically, Vermont is of interest mostly with the Green Mountains in the west and Lake Champlain in the northwest. It borders Massachusetts to the south, New Hampshire to the east, New York to the west, and Quebec to the north.

Originally, the lands of Vermont were settled with Native American tribes (Iroquois, Algonquian peoples, and Abnaki). France later laid claim to Vermont, but the present-day state became a British colony after France lost the French and Indian War. For many years it was ruled by the surrounding colonies, which met fierce resistance from the “boys of the Green Mountains”. After American independence following the Revolutionary War, Vermont became the 14th state to join the union.

Known for nature, dairy, and maple syrup, Vermont has long been associated with progressive politics and the Democratic Party.

One of IBM ‘s major microelectronics plants is located near Burlington. In 2015, the plant was handed over to GlobalFoundries. It takes over the mass production of some of the chips that IBM designs and puts into its computers. The plant provides thousands of jobs for residents of the small state.


Vermont is famous for its long and snowy winters, when people from all over the world come to enjoy its wonderful winter resorts. Temperatures are almost always negative in the period December – February, sometimes falling below -20 °C. Summers are short and cool, with an average daily temperature in July-August of the order of 22 °C

Administrative division

According to Countryaah, Vermont consists of 14 counties:

  1. Addison
  2. Bennington
  3. Washington
  4. Grand Isle
  5. Essex
  6. Caledonia
  7. Lamoille
  8. Orange
  9. Orleans
  10. Rutland
  11. Wyndham
  12. Windsor
  13. Franklin
  14. Chittenden


Vermont has a population of 626,042 (2015).

Racial composition


  • white – 97.95%
  • Asians – 1.24%
  • Indians – 0.97%
  • blacks – 0.89%


67% of the population in the state are Christians (mostly Catholics and Protestants).


Country USA
State Vermont
Area 26.6 km²
Highness height 182 m
Population 7855 people (2010)
295 people/km²
Founding 1787
ZIP code 05601-05604, 05609, 05620, 05633
Telephone code 802
Official site

Montpelier (in English: Montpelier) is a city in the USA, the capital of the state of Vermont.

The city is named after the French city of Montpellier. Montpelier is also the county seat of Washington County. With a population of just 8,035 (2000), Montpelier is the US state capital with the smallest population.

Received city status on August 14, 1781.

Main street of Montpellier

Famous people

Born in Montpelier

  • Anais Mitchell (b. 1981), musician

Vermont, United States

About the author