Oregon, United States

Oregon, United States

Country USA
Capital city Salem
Area 255,098 km²
Population 4,246,155 people (2021)
16.6 people/km²
Governor Kate Brown (Democratic Party)
ISO 3166-2 US-OR
Official site www.oregon.gov

Oregon (English: Oregon [ˈɔrɪɡən], pronounced origan) is a state in the Pacific Northwest of the United States, whose ZIP code is OR. Oregon has a population of 3,930,065 (2013). It is bordered to the west by the Pacific Ocean, to the north by the state of Washington, to the south by the state of California, to the east by the state of Idaho, and to the southeast by the state of Nevada. The Columbia River delineates much of Oregon’s northern border, and the Snake River largely borders its eastern borders.

The state of Oregon was inhabited by many native tribes before traders, explorers and settlers came. In 1843, the self-governing state of Oregon was created. The Oregon Territory was established in 1848, and on February 14, 1859, Oregon joined the United States and became the 33rd state.

This state is the ninth largest and 27th most populous of all states. The state capital of Oregon is Salem, the third most populous city in the world. The city of Portland has a population of 603,106 (2012), ranking first in the state of Oregon and 28th in the United States. As a metropolitan city by population, it ranks 23rd in the United States with 2,262,605 (2011). The Willamette Valley is the most densely populated area in western Oregon, home to eight of the ten most populous cities.

Oregon has a total area of ​​254,233 km², of which 248,119 km² is land and 6,114 km² (2.4%) is water.


  • Astoria
  • Baker City
  • Band
  • Beaverton
  • Brookings
  • Gold Beach
  • Grants Pass
  • Johnson City
  • Jordan Valley
  • West Lynn
  • Independence
  • Klamath Falls
  • Corvallis
  • Lakeview
  • Madras
  • Medford
  • Milwaukee
  • Newburgh
  • Newport
  • Albany
  • Ontario
  • Oregon City
  • Pineville
  • Pendleton
  • Port Orford
  • Portland
  • Reedsport
  • Roseburg
  • Salem
  • Seaside
  • Tualatin
  • Florence
  • Hillsborough
  • Eugene


According to Countryaah, Oregon has 36 counties. They are:

  1. Baker
  2. Benton
  3. Washington
  4. Gilliam
  5. Grant
  6. Jackson
  7. Jefferson
  8. Josephine
  9. Douglas
  10. Showers
  11. Clackamas
  12. Klamath
  13. Clatsup
  14. Colombia
  15. Crook
  16. Kus
  17. Curry
  18. Lake
  19. Lane
  20. Lincoln
  21. Lynn
  22. Malheur
  23. Marion
  24. Morrow
  25. Multnoma
  26. Col
  27. Tillamook
  28. Wasco
  29. Wheeler
  30. Wallowa
  31. Harney
  32. Hood River
  33. Sherman
  34. Yumatilla
  35. Union
  36. Yamhil


Country USA
State Oregon
Area 127.22 km²
Highness height 467 m
Population 164,549 people (2015)
ZIP code 97301–97312, 97314, 97317, 97301, 97304, 97307, 97310
Telephone code 503, 971
Official site www.cityofsalem.net

Salem (in English: Salem) is a city and the capital of the state of Oregon, USA.

Salem has a population of 164,549 (2015 est.). Salem has a total area of ​​120.10 km² .

The name of the city comes from the Semitic words for “peace” – Selam (Arabic) and Shalom (Hebrew).


According to recent archaeological excavations, the Salem area has been inhabited for more than 10,000 years. The Kalapuya Indians were the last natives before the arrival of the whites. They were mainly engaged in fishing and agriculture – cultivation of camassia (in Latin: Camassia), whose bulbs are particularly nutritious.

The first Europeans appeared in the vicinity in 1812 and were trappers, and in 1842 Methodists founded a mission here, which later became a town. In 1851, the city became the territorial capital, and after the recognition of Oregon as a state in 1859, it is now the state capital.


As the state capital, the majority of the working population is employed in the state administration. The town is located in an agricultural area and serves as a processing center and market for the produce of local farms.

The largest private employer is Salem Hospital with 2,700 jobs.

Oregon, United States

About the author