Louisiana, United States

Louisiana, United States

Country USA
Capital city Baton Rouge
Area 135,651 km²
Population 4,657,757 people (2020)
34.3 people/km²
Time zone Central
ZIP code LA
ISO 3166-2 US-LA
Official site www.louisiana.gov

Louisiana (English: Louisiana; French: Louisiane; Spanish: Luisiana) is a state in the United States, whose zip code is LA, and the capital is Baton Rouge. Louisiana has an area of ​​135,651 km 2 and a population of 4,601,893 (2012). Louisiana is home to the second longest bridge in the world. It was built over Lake Pontchartrain and is 38,422 m long.


Louisiana geographic map

Louisiana borders Texas to the west, Arkansas to the north, Mississippi to the east, and the Gulf of Mexico to the south.

The topography of Louisiana is mostly flat, with the highest point being Driskill Hill in the northwestern part of the state at 163 m above sea level. The Mississippi River runs through the state from north to south for about 600 miles (970 km), serving as the Mississippi state border in its upper reaches and emptying into the Gulf of Mexico southeast of New Orleans. Geographically, the state can be tentatively divided into two parts: highlands in the north and alluvial areas in the south along the coast of the Gulf of Mexico. The higher parts and hills in the north and northwest of the state have an area of ​​over 65,000 km 2 and consist of prairies and forests. The alluvial region has an area of ​​about 52,000 km 2and includes marshy areas and barrier islands. From 1932 to 2010, the state lost 1,800 square miles of its area due to sea level rise and erosion.

The climate in Louisiana is a humid subtropical climate. The average temperature is around 20 °C. Winters are mild (average 12 °C) and summers generally hot and humid (over 35 °C with very high humidity), influenced by the proximity of the Gulf of Mexico. The highest temperature recorded in Louisiana was 46 °C recorded on August 10, 1936 at Plain Dilling in the northwestern part of the state, and the lowest was −27 °C recorded on February 13, 1899 in Minden.

Louisiana is frequently affected by tropical storms, especially in the lowlands around and in the New Orleans area. The region’s unique geography, with its many bays and marshes, makes the southern parts of the state vulnerable to flooding during major hurricanes. The area is also prone to frequent thunderstorms, especially in the summer.


  • Alexandria
  • Baton Rouge
  • Shreveport
  • Gonzalez
  • West Monroe
  • Covington
  • Monroe
  • New Orleans
  • Oakdale
  • Pineville
  • Winnsboro
  • Winfield
  • Franklin


Louisiana consists of 64 counties:

  1. Avoyels
  2. Acaidea
  3. Iberia
  4. Alan
  5. Ascension
  6. Assumption
  7. Bienville
  8. Beauregard
  9. Bowser
  10. Vermilion
  11. Vernon
  12. Grant
  13. Jackson
  14. Jefferson
  15. Jefferson Davis
  16. De Soto
  17. West Baton Rouge
  18. West Carol
  19. West Feliciana
  20. Iberville
  21. Ivanjleen
  22. East Baton Rouge
  23. East Carroll
  24. East Feliciana
  25. Kado
  26. Calcasieu
  27. Cameron
  28. Catahoula
  29. Claiborne
  30. Caldwell
  31. Concordia
  32. Lafourche
  33. Madison
  34. Sometimes
  35. Red River
  36. Richland
  37. Franklin
  38. La Salle
  39. Lafayette
  40. Livingston
  41. Lincoln
  42. Morehouse
  43. Orleans
  44. Plaquemons
  45. Point Buy
  46. Rapids
  47. Seybain
  48. Saint Bernard
  49. St. James
  50. St. John the Baptist
  51. St. Landry
  52. Saint Martin
  53. Saint Mary
  54. St. Tammany
  55. Saint Helena
  56. St. Charles
  57. Tangipahoa
  58. Tenso
  59. Terobon
  60. Washito
  61. Webster
  62. Winn
  63. Washington
  64. Union

Baton Rouge

Country USA
State Louisiana
Area 228.23 km²
Highness height 17 m
Population 227,470 people (2020)
ZIP code 70801
Telephone code 225
Official site www.brla.gov
Baton Rouge

Downtown Baton Rouge as seen from the Capitol.

Baton Rouge (in English: Baton Rouge; in French: Bâton-Rouge, pronounced close to Baton Rouge) is the capital of the state of Louisiana in the United States. With a population of 224,097 (2004), Baton Rouge is the second most populous city in the state after New Orleans. Baton Rouge is located along the Mississippi River in the Mississippi Valley, in the southeastern part of the state of Louisiana. The city was founded in 1699.

Twin Cities

  • Cordoba, Mexico
  • Aix en Provence, France
  • Taichung, Taiwan
  • Malatya, Turkey

Louisiana, United States

About the author